top of page

Martial Arts and Jungian Complexes

I had some time to reflect post-training today, and in these rare moments ( well, an hour), my awareness crystallised into a narrative whereby I became aware of how Martial Art Practice has clearly contributed to my ongoing self-evolution.

Essentially I have with some confidence, identified that over the forty or so years of my life thus far, recognized and am regulating better a “Berzerker” complex that has haunted me since my early teen years. Its purpose or ‘telos’ was to destroy all in its path, and its trajectory was one of a felt sense of selfish, individual triumph.

By note of explanation, the Jungian concept of a ‘Complex’ is something akin to an entity or entities within our psyche, that are inevitable but become problematic when they operate without reflective functioning; out of awareness, in a compulsive and amoral manner that is repetitive in nature. Only be becoming aware of, validating and transforming these complexes may we then dance safely with our own Shadow. This is the theory.

In my case, this Berzerker complex manifests itself as an intensely felt, all consuming rage directed at perceived interpersonal threats to my subjective autonomy from socially appointed authority figures and others. At times during my late teen and early adult years, my visual fields have literally been clouded ‘black’ when this compulsive rage with no reflective qualities whatsoever takes over my body. In the past, this has served me well in allowing for the physical, literal and crushing defeat of would-be school bullies, and subsequently served a preventive function as this dissuaded further bullying.

Of course, the shadow aspect of guilt, disconnect from other more pro-social relationships, and the marring of early intimate relationships with impulsive verbal aggression forever blanketed these limited benefits.

Over time, this complex has been sublimated through decades of disciplined, committed practice of the martial arts. In particular, (I stopped this 10 years ago but still train) I competed in the unforgiving arena of Muay Thai for some years. Within this domain, I learnt valuable, concrete physical lessons early that not everyone can be defeated and made to succumb with unbridled and pure aggression.

More importantly, I learnt that technical skill, mental awareness and mindful attention, regulation of emotions, refinement of movement, gracefulness and contained evasiveness were much more important and potent in bringing victory.

Even later, I learnt experientially that these qualities in practice lead to episodes of ‘Flow’ even with individual practice, and hence gradually the value of compassion/aesthetics over competition/victory. The telos altered. And for the better regarding myself and surrounding others. Over the years, I have continued to apply these principles, first learnt in a boxing arena, to the arena and playing field of life and interpersonal relationships.

I think the Berzerker perhaps has been sublimated into the archetype of Trickster/Loki/ Anansi and the like, as I do still actively challenge authority, often with a sense of humor and with the back up of rational, contained thinking. It appears I am well known for this as family, friends, students, patients and colleagues alike have commented on this quality (Often not in glowing terms!).

Nonetheless, the telos of the Berzerker still does intrude into my (and therefore others’) experiential world from time to time but I feel I am more equipped these days to recognize, regulate and re-instate it into a form that does not activate destructive behaviours. I do need to be careful and alert to the possibility that the Berzerker remains operative, and in fact is incorporating the intellect and emotional detachment to subtly but continuously further its original nefarious purposes, in disguised form.

I am left with a lingering confidence that my continued practice of the Martial Arts, with an altered telos that is no longer focused on competition and more on aesthetics and flow, will continue to enhance a healthy and adaptive self development.

I end with this picture of an Amulet of a revered Thai Saint (Luang Phor Thuad) gifted to me from my Muay Thai teacher Mr. Bee Mongkondech. I believe this symbolises my continued evolution as a martial artist, and more importantly, as a person. The road has taken me from Berzerker to an Archetypal imago centred on compassion and value to others. I hope to continue this journey, whose lessons I hope to teach and share with others.

bottom of page